Image by airfocus

F1RSTGEN MENTORING

You Can MAKE a Difference
You Can BE The Difference

THE BPOC MENTORING PROGRAM FOR BPOC

Not YET such a mentoring program !?

There are a lot of mentoring programs. Nevertheless, you often have the feeling that you cannot always fully understand your counterpart. There are many explanations for this! For example, people grew up with different experiences because of their cultural origins or because of their economic situation. As students, we wanted mentors who not only look like us, but also have similar experiences! That's why we founded F1rstGen, because every year many young high school graduates face several big question marks shortly before graduation: What do I want to study? Where do i want to study? What do I have to do for that? How do I finance the whole thing? Do I actually have to repay BAföG?

Many such questions plague many new students every year. First generation students, i.e. students who are the first to study in their families, have a major disadvantage: They do not have direct access to personal experiences and advice from their family members. You usually have to pick out all the information and options yourself and are exposed to the university bureaucracy alone. We want to change that with a mentoring program from BPoC for young BPoC!

The program serves to offer support to young students with a history of migration. Mentees are paired with mentors on a subject-specific basis before starting their studies (preferably before applying for a degree). Our mentors support mentees and are available to answer any questions or other concerns. Our goal is to give young first generation students similar starting opportunities to those of "normal" students. Everything can and will be possible, with our help!

FOR MENTEES

Who can become a mentee?

All young high school graduates (but also young students depending on the semester) with a history of migration are addressed,

  • who study first in the family
    OR

  • whose parents studied abroad and not in Germany

FOR MENTORS

Who can become a mentor?

In principle, any student or graduate with a migration background can become a mentor. In order to keep the high school graduates safe, we always ask new mentors, whom we do not yet know personally, for an identity confirmation before we pair them with the mentees. So if we find a mentee for you, we will ask you to confirm your identity beforehand.

Image by airfocus

F1RSTGEN MENTORING

You Can MAKE a Difference
You Can BE The Difference

DAS MENTORING PROGRAMM VON BPOC FÜR BPOC

Nicht NOCH so ein Mentor*innen Programm!?

Es gibt sehr viele Mentor*innen Programme. Trotzdem hat man oft das Gefühl, sein Gegenüber nicht immer ganz verstehen zu können. Dafür gibt es viele Erklärungen! Z.B. sind Menschen aufgrund ihrer kulturellen Herkunft oder aufgrund ihrer wirtschaftlichen Situation mit unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen groß geworden. Wir haben uns als Schüler*innen Mentor*innen gewünscht, die nicht nur so aussehen wie wir, sondern auch ähnliche Erfahrungen gesammelt haben! Deswegen haben wir F1rstGen gegründet, denn viele junge Abiturient*innen stehen jedes Jahr kurz vor dem Abschluss vor mehreren großen Fragezeichen: Was will ich studieren? Wo will ich studieren? Was muss ich dafür tun? Wie finanziere ich das ganze? Muss ich BAföG eigentlich zurückzahlen?

Viele solche Fragen plagen jedes Jahr viele neue Studienanfänger*innen. First Generation Studierende, also Studierende, die als erste in ihrer Familie studieren, haben dabei einen großen Nachteil: Sie haben keinen direkten Zugang zu persönlichen Erfahrungen und Ratschlägen ihrer Familienmitglieder. Sie müssen sich meist alle Informationen und Möglichkeiten selbst raussuchen und sind der Unibürokratie alleine ausgesetzt. Das wollen wir durch einen Mentoringprogramm von BPoC für junge BPoC ändern!

Das Programm dient dazu jungen Studienanfänger*innen mit Migrationsgeschichte Unterstützung zu bieten. Mentees werden Fachspezifisch mit Mentor*innen vor dem Studienbeginn (am besten vor Studienbewerbung) gepaart. Unsere Mentor*innen begleiten Mentees und stehen ihnen bei Fragen oder sonstigen Anliegen zur Verfügung. Unser Ziel ist es jungen First Generation Studierenden ähnliche Startchancen wie die der „normalen“ Studierenden zu verschaffen. Everything can and will be possible, mit unserer Hilfe!

FÜR MENTEES

Wer kann Mentee werden?

Angesprochen sind alle jungen Abiturient*innen (aber auch junge Studierende je nach Semester) mit Migrationsgeschichte,

  • die als erste in der Familie studieren
    ODER

  • deren Eltern im Ausland und nicht in Deutschland studiert haben

FÜR MENTOR*INNEN

Wer kann Mentor*in werden

Mentor*in kann grundsätzlich jede*r Studierende oder Studienabsolvent*in mit Migrationsgeschichte werden. Um die Sicherheit der Abiturient*innen zu wahren, fragen wir neue Mentor*innen, die wir persönlich noch nicht kennen, grundsätzlich nach einer Identitätsbestätigung, bevor wir diese mit den Mentees paaren. Sollten wir also ein Mentee für dich finden, werden wir dich vorher darum bitten, deine Identität zu bestätigen.